How Nutrition North Canada works

Choose a topic

What is Nutrition North Canada?

Nutrition North Canada (NNC) is a Government of Canada subsidy to help make perishable, nutritious food more affordable and more accessible.

NNC subsidizes a list of nutritious eligible foods, as well as certain non-food items such as diapers and non-prescription drugs, sold by registered retailers, suppliers, and country food processors.

Customers in eligible communities can purchase subsidized food from registered northern retailers or directly from registered southern suppliers or country food processors.

NNC is based on a market-driven model which promotes efficiency, cost-effectiveness and transparency. It provides a subsidy for the high cost of stocking and/or shipping certain items in the North. The subsidy is provided to retailers and suppliers that apply, and are selected, to register with the program. In turn, these businesses are responsible for passing on the full subsidy to consumers.

How the subsidy works

The subsidy is provided through retailers and suppliers that apply, and are selected, to register with the program. These businesses must pass on the full subsidy to consumers.

Crown-Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs Canada (CIRNAC) closely monitors compliance and publishes regular compliance reviews to ensure transparency.

The retail subsidy is applied against the total cost of an eligible product (including product purchasing cost, transportation, insurance and overhead) shipped by air to an eligible community.

Sample point-of-sale in-store receipt

It is mandatory for NNC retailers across the North to display the NNC subsidy on customers' receipts. This ensures that customers can clearly see the subsidy amount for each item on their grocery receipt.

Watch a video about Nutrition North Canada's point-of-sale system

Nutrition North Canada Receipt
Description of the Receipt from Salluit Cooperative Association

The image is of a receipt from Salluit Cooperative Association, Salluit, QC, which includes the money saved through the NNC subsidy for each item purchased by the consumer. Items were purchased on March 27, 2015.

  • Consumer purchased Selection orient (frozen vegetables) at $5.89, saving $3.98 through NNC subsidy;
  • consumer purchased Selection apples at $6.19, saving $11.47 through NNC subsidy;
  • consumer purchased Post Cereal at $6.89, saving $2.55 through NNC subsidy;
  • consumer purchased jalapeno peppers at $3.99, saving $0.91 through NNC subsidy;
  • consumer purchased raspberries at $4.79 saving $1.18 through NNC subsidy;
  • consumer purchased Maple Leaf regular meat at $11.59, saving$1.27 through NNC subsidy;
  • consumer purchased Selection oranges at $2.79, saving $3.65 through NNC subsidy;
  • consumer purchased Natrel Ultra Tab (Cream) at $6.09, saving $1.61 through NNC subsidy;
  • The Subtotal came to $48.22 but with tax at $0.48, the total came to $48.70. The customer shopped at Store #1, was served at Station #21 and was helped by Cashier #3. The cashier was FCNQ.

The Nutrition North Canada Program saved the customer $26.63 on his/her purchases. Nutrition North Canada Subsidy has 2 levels: Level 1 being $5.20/Kg and level 2 being $3.40/Kg. The original receipt is required within 30 days for a refund.

Subsidy levels

Country food shipped by air has only 1 subsidy rate, but it varies according to the location of the country food processor or distributor and the eligible community.

Subsidy rates for country food

Certain eligible items shipped by seasonal ground transportation (winter road or barge) have a flat $1/kilogram rate across all NNC communities.

There are 3 levels of subsidy for other types of nutritious food shipped by air:

Eligible communities and their subsidy rates

Budget

When Nutrition North Canada launched in 2011, the Government of Canada invested $60 million per year, including $2.9 million for community-based nutrition education through Health Canada. In 2014, there was an increase of $11.3 million to the NNC subsidy budget and a new 5% annual compound escalator for the food subsidy budget to help it keep pace with the growing demand for nutritious food in the North. In 2016, NNC expanded to include 37 more isolated communities with an additional $64.5 million over 5 years, with $13.8 million per year allocated to expanding the program to support all isolated communities, which also included $4.7 million per year for community-based nutrition education initiatives.

In the 2018 Fall Economic Statement the Government proposes to invest an additional $62.6 million over 5 years starting in 2019-20, with $10.4 million ongoing, in the Nutrition North Canada program. This investment would help to support several program changes, informed by consultations with northerners, and to introduce a Harvesters Support Grant to help lower the high costs associated with traditional hunting and harvesting activities.

The overall NNC budget is approximately $99 million in 2018-2019.

Direct or personal orders

If a customer in an NNC eligible community wishes to purchase eligible items directly from a supplier instead of their local retailer, they can place a direct order. These are a useful option for individuals, schools, restaurants and even small retailers. This option helps preserve competition among northern retailers and provides consumers with flexibility related to special dietary needs.

To place a direct order:

Suppliers must pass on the subsidy to their customers. Your savings will be printed on your invoice.

Compliance reviews

NNC is committed to ensuring that its operations are transparent. Each year, a sample of northern retailers and southern suppliers are chosen to undergo a compliance review. This process can help determine whether they are complying with the terms and conditions of the funding agreement they signed with CIRNAC and are transferring the subsidy to customers. The compliance reviews are conducted by an independent third-party, not federal government employees. The reviews are posted online and available in the reports section.

The retailer or supplier is made aware during the review if any business practices or processes do not comply with their funding agreement. They may develop a solution on their own, or the reviewer may recommend specific changes to correct the situation. CIRNAC provides recommendations to the retailers or suppliers by letter and they are required to respond with proof that they have implemented a solution. Beginning with the 2013-2014 reviews, these letters are also available online in the status section of each compliance review. If the retailer or supplier continues to be non-compliant, the funding agreement can be terminated. This is a last resort option, and CIRNAC will work with the retailer or supplier to fix issues where possible to allow Northerners as much choice as possible.

Shoppers who are concerned about the cost of food items are encouraged to contact their local retailer or direct order provider. If you are not satisfied with the response, you can contact their head office. If it is a cooperative, another option is to become a member of the board.

List of registered northern retailers, southern suppliers and country food processors and distributors

Registered country food processors/distributors

Registered country food distributors Locations Payment method options
Kitikmeot Food Ltd
Phone: 867-983-2881
Fax: 867-983-2801
Email: kitikmeot@qiniq.com
Cambridge Bay NU
  • please contact suppliers
Kivaliq Arctic Foods
Phone: 867-645-3137
Fax: 867-645-3467
Email: tundra@qiniq.com
Rankin Inlet NU
  • credit card (Visa/MasterCard)
  • cheque
  • purchase order
  • money order

Glossary of terms

Definitions for the terms used in the Nutrition North Canada program and on these web pages.

Commercially prepared food
Food that is prepared and distributed by food manufacturers, and that individuals typically buy in a store. This food can be fresh, frozen, raw or cooked and is usually pre-packaged.
Country food
Food obtained through local hunting, fishing or harvesting. Examples include caribou, ptarmigan, seal, Arctic char, shellfish and berries.
Country food processors/distributors
Government-regulated establishments that produce country food approved for export and are located in a community eligible for a subsidy under the program.
Direct orders
Individuals and certain institutions (for example, schools and daycares) in eligible communities are able to buy eligible subsidized items directly from a supplier in the South that is registered with the program and offers this service. Direct orders are often referred to as personal orders.
Eligible communities
Communities eligible for food subsidies. These communities lack year-round surface transportation.
Eligible food
Lists of the types of food which are eligible for a subsidy.
Non-food items
Items that are also eligible for a subsidy. For example, in all eligible communities, diapers and non-prescription drugs are subsidized. In Old Crow, Yukon, which rarely has access to surface transportation at any time of the year, other non-food items such as diapers, toilet paper and toothpaste are also subsidized.
Non-perishable food
Food which does not spoil quickly when stored at room temperature and has a shelf-life of more than 1 year. Examples include dry pasta, dehydrated vegetables and canned fruit.
Northern retailers
Retailers who operate stores located in eligible communities and who sell eligible food. These retailers are registered as a business with the Canada Revenue Agency and have a contribution agreement with CIRNAC to govern the funds (the subsidy) they receive under the program.
Perishable food
Food that spoils quickly especially if it is not stored at the proper temperature. Perishable food can be fresh or frozen or have a shelf-life of less than 1 year. Examples include meat, milk, bread, fresh vegetables and frozen fruit.
Personal orders
See Direct orders.
Retail subsidy
An amount of money that the federal government transfers to registered northern retailers and southern suppliers in the program to help reduce the cost of nutritious food in eligible isolated, northern communities. See How the subsidy works for more information.
Revised northern food basket
A list of 67 food items and quantities required to nutritiously feed a family of 4 for 1 week. See the Eligible food list for more information.
Southern suppliers
Retailers and wholesalers who operate a business located in Canada but not in a community eligible for the program and who sell food that is eligible under the program. They are registered as a business with the Canada Revenue Agency and have a contribution agreement with CIRNAC to govern the funds (the subsidy) they receive under the program. Southern suppliers provide eligible products to small northern retailers, eligible institutions, establishments and individuals living in an eligible community.
Surface transportation
Access to permanent road, rail or marine service.
Traditional food
See country food.
Date modified:

Comment fonctionne Nutrition Nord Canada?

Choisir un sujet

Qu'est-ce que Nutrition Nord Canada?

Nutrition Nord Canada (NNC) est un programme de contribution du gouvernement du Canada pour faire en sorte que les habitants du Nord aient plus facilement accès à des aliments nutritifs périssables abordables.

NNC offre une contribution à l'égard d'une liste d'aliments nutritifs admissibles ainsi qu'à l'égard de certains produits non alimentaires, comme les couches et les médicaments non rescrits, vendus par des détaillants et des fournisseurs inscrits ainsi que par des transformateurs d'aliments traditionnels ou locaux inscrits.

Les clients dans les collectivités admissibles peuvent acheter des aliments admissibles à une contribution chez des détaillants du Nord inscrits ou directement auprès de fournisseurs du Sud inscrits ou des transformateurs d'aliments traditionnels ou locaux inscrits.

NNC repose sur un modèle axé sur le marché qui encourage l'efficacité, la rentabilité et la transparence. Il fournit une contribution pour compenser le coût élevé du stockage ou de l'expédition de certains produits dans le Nord. Celle-ci est versée à des détaillants et à des fournisseurs inscrits au programme après qu'ils ont présenté une demande et ont été retenus en ce sens. Ces entreprises doivent, pour leur part, faire profiter les consommateurs de la totalité de la contribution.

Comment fonctionne la contribution

La contribution est fournie par l'intermédiaire des détaillants et des fournisseurs qui demandent à s'inscrire au programme et sont retenus. Par la suite, ces entreprises doivent accorder la contribution entière aux clients.

Relations Couronne-Autochtones et Affaires du Nord Canada (RCAANC) surveille de près de la conformité et publie régulièrement des examens de conformité afin d'assurer la transparence.

La contribution pour la vente au détail vise le coût total d'un produit admissible (y compris prix d'achat du produit, transport, assurances et frais généraux) expédié par avion vers une collectivité admissible.

Échantillon de reçu de magasin aupoint de vente

Les détaillants inscrits à NNC dans tout le Nord doivent afficher la contribution de NNC sur les reçus des clients afin que ceux-ci peuvent voir le montant de la contribution pour chaque article sur leur reçu d'épicerie.

Vidéo sur le système de terminaux de point de vente pour Nutrition Nord Canada

Reçu de Nutrition Nord Canada
Description du reçu de la Salluit Cooperative Association

L'image est celle d'un reçu de la Salluit Cooperative Association, située à Salluit (Québec). Y sont indiquées les économies réalisées grâce à la contribution de Nutrition Nord Canada (NNC) pour chaque article acheté. Les achats ont eu lieu le 27 mars 2015.

  • Le consommateur a acheté un produit oriental (légumes surgelés) à 5,89 $, économisant 3,98 $ grâce à la contribution de NNC;
  • Le consommateur a acheté des pommes Sélection à 6,19 $, économisant 11,47 $grâce à la contribution de NNC;
  • Le consommateur a acheté des céréales Post à 6,89 $, économisant 2,55 $ grâce à la contribution de NNC;
  • Le consommateur a acheté des piments jalapenos à 3,99 $, économisant 0,91 $grâce à la contribution de NNC;
  • Le consommateur a acheté des framboises à 4,79 $, économisant 1,18 $ grâce à la contribution de NNC;
  • Le consommateur a acheté de la viande ordinaire Maple Leaf à 11,59 $, économisant 1,27 $ grâce à la contribution de NNC;
  • Le consommateur a acheté des oranges Sélection à 2,79 $, économisant 3,65 $ grâce à la contribution de NNC;
  • Le consommateur a acheté un produit Natrel Ultra (crème) à 6,09 $, économisant 1,61 $ grâce à la contribution de NNC;
  • Le total partiel était de 48,22 $ mais avec les taxes de 0,48 $, il s'élevait à 48,70 $.

Le client a fait ses achats au magasin no 1 et a été servi au poste no 21 par le caissier no 3. Le caissier était un représentant de la FCNQ. Le programme Nutrition Nord Canada a permis au client d'économiser 26,63 $. La contribution de Nutrition Nord Canada compte deux niveaux : le niveau 1 à 5,20 $/kg et le niveau 2 à 3,40 $/kg. Pour obtenir un remboursement, il faut présenter le reçu original dans les 30 jours suivant les achats.

Niveaux de contribution

Il existe un seul taux de contribution pour les aliments traditionnels ou locaux expédiés par avion mais ce taux varie selon le lieu où se situe le transformateur ou le distributeur d'aliments traditionnels ou locaux par rapport à la collectivité admissible.

Taux de contribution pour aliments traditionnels ou locaux

Certains produits admissibles expédiés par transport terrestre saisonnier (route d'hiver ou barge) ont un taux fixe de 1$ le kilogramme dans toutes les collectivités admissibles à NNC.

Il existe 3 niveaux de contribution pour d'autres types d'aliments nutritifs expédiés par avion :

Collectivités admissibles et leurs taux de contribution

Budget

Depuis le lancement du programme Nutrition Nord Canada en 2011, le gouvernement du Canada a investi environ 60 millions de dollars annuellement, y compris 2,9 millions pour l'éducation nutritionnelle dans les communautés par l'entremise de Santé Canada. En 2014, le gouvernement du Canada a annoncé une augmentation de 11,3 millions de dollars du budget de contributions de NNC et un nouveau facteur de progression annuelle composée de 5 % qui sera appliqué aux fonds de contribution. Cela aidera le programme NNC à suivre la cadence du taux de croissance de la demande pour des aliments nutritifs dans le Nord. En 2016, NNC a pris de l'expansion en vue d'inclure 37 communautés nordiques isolées et a investi 64,5 millions de dollars additionnels sur 5 ans, dont 13,8 millions par année seront affectés à l'expansion du programme afin d'appuyer toutes les communautés nordiques isolées. Cela comprend également une attribution de 4,7 millions par année pour les initiatives d'information communautaires sur la nutrition.

Dans l'Énoncé économique de l'automne 2018, le gouvernement propose d'investir 62,6 millions de dollars supplémentaires sur 5 ans à compter de 2019-2020, dont 10,4 millions de dollars en permanence, dans le programme Nutrition Nord Canada. Cet investissement contribuerait à appuyer plusieurs changements au programme, éclairés par des consultations menées auprès des résidants du Nord, et à mettre en place une subvention de soutien aux pêcheurs pour aider à réduire les coûts élevés associés aux activités traditionnelles de chasse et de récolte.

Le budget global de NNC est d'environ 99 millions de dollars en 2018-2019.

Commandes directes ou personnelles

Si un client dans une collectivité admissible à NNC souhaite acheter des produits admissibles directement auprès d'un fournisseur au lieu de s'adresser à leur détaillant local du Nord, il peut passer une commande directe. Voilà une option utile pour les particuliers, les écoles, les restaurants et même les petits détaillants. Elle aide à préserver la concurrence entre les détaillants du Nord et donne aux consommateurs une souplesse par rapport à des besoins alimentaires spéciaux.

Pour passer une commande directe :

Les fournisseurs doivent veiller à ce que leurs clients bénéficient de la contribution. Le montant de l'économie que vous réalisez sera inscrit sur votre facture.

Examens de conformité

NNC entend faire en sorte que ses activités soient transparentes. Tous les ans, un échantillon de détaillants du Nord et de fournisseurs du Sud fait l'objet d'un examen de la conformité. Ce processus peut aider à déterminer s'ils respectent les conditions de l'entente de financement qu'ils ont signée avec RCAANC et s'ils font profiter les consommateurs de la contribution. Les examens de la conformité sont effectués par une tierce partie indépendante, et non par des fonctionnaires fédéraux. Les examens sont affichés en ligne et peuvent être consultés à la section sur les rapports.

Le détaillant ou le fournisseur est informé pendant l'examen de toute pratique ou tout processus commercial non conforme à son entente de financement. Ils peuvent concevoir leur propre solution, ou l'examinateur peut recommander des changements précis pour corriger la situation. RCAANC adresse des recommandations aux détaillants ou aux fournisseurs par courrier, et ils sont tenus d'y répondre en fournissant la preuve qu'ils ont mis en application une solution. À partir des examens de l'exercice 2013-2014, ces lettres seront également diffusées en ligne, dans la section Statut de chaque examen de conformité. Si le détaillant ou le fournisseur ne se conforme toujours pas aux conditions de l'entente de financement, celle-ci peut être résiliée. Il s'agit d'une option de dernier recours et, RCAANC travaillera avec le détaillant et le fournisseur afin de régler les problèmes et donner aux résidents du Nord le plus de choix possible.

Les consommateurs qui sont préoccupés par le coût des produits alimentaires sont invités à communiquer avec leur détaillant local ou leur fournisseur de commande directe. Si vous n'êtes pas satisfait de la réponse que vous obtenez, vous pouvez communiquer avec leur siège social. S'il s'agit d'une coopérative, vous pouvez également devenir membre du conseil d'administration.

Listes des détaillants du Nord, des fournisseurs du et des transformateurs ou distributeurs d'aliments traditionnels ou locaux inscrits

Transformateurs ou distributeurs d'aliments traditionnels inscrits

Distributeurs d'aliments traditionnels inscrits Emplacements Modes de paiement
Kitikmeot Food Ltd (site Web non disponible en français)
Tél. : 867-983-2881
Fax : 867-983-2801
Courriel : kitikmeot@qiniq.com
Cambridge Bay NU
  • veuillez communiquer avec les fournisseurs
Kivaliq Arctic Foods (site Web non disponible en français)
Tél. : 867-645-3137
Fax : 867-645-3467
Courriel : tundra@qiniq.com
Rankin Inlet NU
  • carte de crédit (Visa/MasterCard)
  • chèque
  • bon de commande
  • mandat-poste

Glossaire

Définitions des termes utilisés dans le programme Nutrition Nord Canada et sur ces pages Web.

Aliments admissibles
Liste des types d'aliments pouvant bénéficier d'une contribution.
Aliments de production commerciale
Aliments qui sont préparés et distribués par des fabricants de produits alimentaires et que les gens achètent habituellement dans des commerces. Ces aliments peuvent être frais, surgelés, crus ou cuits, et ils sont généralement préemballés.
Aliments prélevés dans la nature
Voir Aliments traditionnels
Aliments traditionnels
Aliments découlant des activités locales de chasse, de pêche et de récolte. Le caribou, le lagopède, le phoque, l'omble chevalier, les mollusques et crustacés ainsi que les baies en sont des exemples.
Articles non alimentaires
Articles qui peuvent également bénéficier d'une contribution. Par exemple, dans toutes les collectivités admissibles, les couches et les médicaments non prescripts sont admissibles à une contribution. À Old Crow (Yukon), vers lequel il n'y a jamais rarement du transport de surface quelle que soit la période de l'année, d'autres articles non alimentaires, comme les couches, le papier hygiénique et le dentifrice, sont également admissibles à une contribution
Collectivités admissibles
Collectivités pouvant bénéficier d'une contribution pour les aliments. Ces collectivités n'ont pas de transport de surface toute l'année.
Commandes directes
Les particuliers et certaines institutions (par exemple les écoles et les garderies) se trouvant dans des communautés admissibles peuvent acheter des produits admissibles à une contribution directement auprès d'un fournisseur dans le Sud qui est inscrit au programme et qui offre ce service. On parle souvent de commandes personnelles à propos des commandes directes.
Commandes personnelles
Voir Commandes directes.
Contribution au commerce de détail
Somme d'argent que le gouvernement fédéral transfère aux détaillants du Nord et aux fournisseurs du Sud inscrits pour aider à faire baisser le prix des aliments nutritifs dans les collectivités isolés du Nord admissibles. Pour plus de détails, visitez Comment fonctionne la contribution.
Denrées non périssables
Aliments qui se conservent longtemps lorsqu'ils sont rangés à température ambiante et qui ont un délai d'utilisation de plus de 1 an. Les pâtes alimentaires sèches, les légumes déshydratés et les fruits en conserve en sont des exemples.
Denrées périssables
Aliments qui ne se conservent que très peu de temps, surtout s'ils ne sont pas rangés à une température adéquate; les denrées périssables peuvent être fraîches ou surgelées, et avoir un délai d'utilisation de moins de 1 an. La viande, le lait, le pain, les légumes frais et les fruits surgelés en sont des exemples.
Détaillants du Nord
Détaillants exploitant des magasins situés dans les collectivités admissibles qui vendent des aliments admissibles. Ces détaillants sont inscrits comme entreprises auprès de l'Agence du revenu du Canada et ils ont conclu avec RCAANC une entente de contribution qui régit l'utilisation de fonds (la contribution) qu'ils reçoivent dans le cadre du programme.
Fournisseurs du Sud
Détaillants et grossistes exploitant une entreprise située au Canada, mais à l'extérieur d'une collectivité admissible au programme et qui vendent des aliments admissibles au programme. Ils sont inscrits en tant qu'entreprises auprès de l'Agence du revenu du Canada et ils ont conclu avec RCAANC une entente de contribution qui régit l'utilisation de fonds (la contribution) qu'ils reçoivent dans le cadre du programme. Les fournisseurs du Sud fournissent des produits admissibles à des détaillants du Nord, à des institutions admissibles, à des établissements et à des particuliers vivant dans une collectivité admissible.
Panier de provisions nordique révisé
Liste de 67 produits alimentaires et quantités nécessaires pour nourrir une famille de 4 personnes pendant 1 semaine. Pour plus de détails, visitez la Liste des aliments admissibles.
Transformateurs ou distributeurs d'aliments traditionnels
Établissements réglementés par le gouvernement qui produisent des aliments traditionnels approuvés aux fins de l'exportation et sont situés dans une collectivité admissible à une contribution dans le cadre du programme.
Transport de surface
Accès à un service permanent par route, par voie ferrée ou par service maritime.
Date de modification :